A sense dulled

A response to http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/05/18/daily-prompt-senses/

Which sense would I reduce in order to improve all the others?

Well I’. d really like to improve sight: I now have to wear reading glasses, on top of having to wear contact lenses for short sight, and that really annoys me.

Hearing: my hearing is fine, but I don’t do well on psychoacoustic stuff like filtering out background noise, which makes it very difficult to take part in conversations in pubs and bars. It’s an effect that sounds like (no pun intended) it might be this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Auditory_processing_disorder

Smell – I really find this useful, I would not want to sacrifice this. Imagine how many things you are alerted to by your sense of smell, a cat that’s not used the litter tray, a gas leak, and I’m sure good smells are the main thing in attraction between people. Plus if I couldn’t smell how would I know when I was smelling?

Touch – well yes, very important.

However, if I could give up a lot of taste, that would actually be quite useful. I could eat my own cooking. I could drink coffee in a far wider range of places than I can at the moment. I could eat cheaper chocolate and drink cheaper wine. There are some tastes I would miss, of course. Overall though I think it’s more hassle than it’s worth.

4 thoughts on “A sense dulled

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – A Poetic Duet With Fortyoneteen – “Sensual Senses” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

